2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize: The Longlist

Twelve Canadian writers are  longlisted for the prestigious – and as of this year, even richer – prize for fiction.

Giller Prize founder Jack Rabinovitch announced that starting this year, the cash awards would double, with the winner receiving $100,000, up from $50,000. The prize for the finalists will also be increased from $5,000 to 10,000.

“Canadian storytellers deserve this recognition,” Rabinovitch said in a statement.

He established the prize back in 1994, in honour of his late wife, literary editor, Doris Giller. The award for the winner was then $25,000.

The 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlisted books are:

Waiting for the Man by Arjun Basu (ECW Press)

The Betrayers by David Bezmozgis (HarperCollins Canada)

American Innovations by Rivka Galchen (HarperCollins Canada)

Tell by Frances Itani (HarperCollins Canada)

Watch How We Walk by Jennifer LoveGrove (ECW Press)

Us Conductors by Sean Michaels (Random House Canada)

Moving Forward Sideways Like a Crab by Shani Mootoo (Doubleday Canada)

The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O’Neill (HarperCollins Canada) ·

Paradise and Elsewhere by Kathy Page (John Metcalf Books/Biblioasis)

My October by Claire Holden Rothman (Penguin Canada)

All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews (Knopf Canada)

The Ever After of Ashwin Rao by Padma Viswanathan (Random House Canada)

 Have a favourite? Let us know in the comments!

Stay tuned for more news on the 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize! The shortlisted authors will be announced on Monday, Oct. 6. The winner will be revealed at the annual Scotiabank Giller Prize gala, which will air on CBC Television on Monday, Nov. 10.