Giller Shortlist Announced

The Scotiabank Giller Prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

This morning, during a press conference hosted by previous winner Linden MacIntyre, the Scotiabank Giller Prize announced its 2011 shortlist. The finalists are: David Bezmozgis for his novel THE FREE WORLD; Lynn Coady for her novel THE ANTAGONIST; Patrick deWitt for his novel THE SISTERS BROTHERS; Esi Edugyan for her novel HALF-BLOOD BLUES; Zsuzsi Gartner for her short story collection BETTER LIVING THROUGH PLASTIC EXPLOSIVES; and Michael Ondaatje for his novel THE CAT’S TABLE.

The six finalists were selected by a jury consisting of Canadian writer and 2009 Scotiabank Giller Prize finalist Annabel Lyon; American author, memoirist and Guggenheim fellow Howard Norman; and UK playwright and prize-winning novelist Andrew O’Hagan.

The winner of the $50,000 prize will be announced at the Scotiabank Giller Prize gala on November 8th at the Four Seasons Hotel in downtown Toronto.

– Athena McKenzie