The 2016 Giller Prize Winner to Be Announced Tonight

Six authors are vying for Canada’s $100,000 Scotiabank Giller Prize.

The annual prize toasts the years best Canadian novel or short story collection (published in English), with the winning author receiving $100,000 and an $10,000 going to each remaining finalist.

This year’s jury includes Lawrence Hill, Kathleen Winter, Jeet Heer, Samantha Harvey and Alan Warner. Here are the finalists:

  • 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl by Mona Awad
  • Yiddish for Pirates by Gary Barwin
  • The Wonder by Emma Donoghue
  • The Party Wall by Catherine Leroux, translated by Lazer Lederhendler
  • Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien
  • The Best Kind of People by Zoe Whittall

CBC’s Steve Patterson will host the gala, which is set for this evening in Toronto. The ceremony will air on CBC at 9 p.m. (EST).